U19 Div 1

Allister Clarke goes back-to-back

Allister Clarke added to his already bulging trophy cabinet with the 2019 Harvey Gordon Medal at last night’s Cec & Bunty Champion Dinner. It was his second consecutive victory and his third overall, beating home Aaron Day and Tom Ayton in a hotly contested race.

“It’s a great honour to be recognised with this prestigious award, especially in a side that had such a great mix of experience and youth. Players such as Damien Bonney and Aaron Day added a lot to the side this year, and we had some great performances from guys like Wes (Greenaway) and Tom Byrnes,” Clarke said following the event.

Knowing the impact Harvey had on this great Club, it makes winning this award even more special.”

Allister also took home the Colin Keeble Most Consistent Player, an award voted on by coaches and the Committee.

Thomas Byrnes collected the Roger Down Player’s Player trophy for Premier Division, while the Harry Ball Trophy for the most Phelan Medal votes went to Tim Cordner who had an outstanding season up forward, kicking 41 goals.

Luke Vella capped off a memorable season, which included a long-awaited NEAFL debut, by securing the Carter/Ramus Best Player in Finals award for his performances in both the Premier Division and NEAFL post-season.

Josh Toyer was awarded the J. Malouf Most Improved Player trophy following his rise from Division 3 in 2018 to being an integral part of the premiership team in Division 1, as well as playing a number of games in Premier Division Reserves.  

The Chas Wilkingson Rising Star award was won by Wes Greenaway, following a season that saw him dominate across both Under 19s and Premier Division, after a preseason spent training with the NEAFL squad.

Colts stalwart Dre Apostolou was feted as the Young Club Person of the Year for his magnificent contribution to the Under 19s program this season both on and off the field.

Dylan Smyth was the winner of the Best First Year Player, who after taking up the game this season kicked 24 goals across four grades, reaching as high as the Premier Division Reserves. He is certainly one to keep an eye on in 2020.

Hugh Greenwood and Lachlan Bennetts were recognised with Outstanding Contribution awards for their efforts throughout the season.  

Kyle Underwood was named Premier Division Reserves Best & Fairest, following a stellar season in the Reserves.

Billy Lambert was awarded the Blues Best & Fairest, just two weeks after his dominant display in the Blues Grand Final win over Pennant Hills.

Ruckman Lochlan Johnson and former colt Calvin Goessler took home the Reds and Golds Best & Fairest awards respectively,

The Driscoll Medal, a celebration of our NEAFL season and our 2019 Club Person of the Year, will be taking place at Randwick Racecourse on Friday, 11 October with tickets still available at the SUANFC Shop.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *