Team Of The Decade

The decade 2001 – 2010 produced an outstanding period of on-field success for SUANFC. Prior to our re-evelation to the Sydney AFL Premier Division, the Club’s first grade appeared in 5 consecutive first grade grand finals (2002-2006) winning the flag in 2003 and 2005.

In 2007, the Club saw promotion to the Sydney AFL Premier Division and while some believed the challenge beyond the Club’s measure, we need wait only four years (2010) to once again feature in the last game in September. During both the six years in the Sydney Football Assocation and the  four 2007-2010 in the SAFL, the Club was blessed with a well balanced mix of tough hard working footballers and those with amazing natural talent, all guided by a football department at the head of its peers.

The Club put the selection of this final group over to the  “SUANFC Team of the Decade Selection Committee”; Naamon Eurell (Chair), Gerard Mitchell, Fintan O’Connor, Tony Overall and Roland Wood (Secretary).

On July 2, 2011, SUANFC recognised those 22 players, a Senior Coach and Club Trainer who made the decade such a success, the final group, honoured at the Club’s first ever Team of the Decade ceremony, the official “SUANFC Team of the Decade Dinner”  held at the Grandstand Restaurant.

As recognition of their selection, each of the final 22 players and two Club Officials received a specially cast commemorative medal. The Club also commemorated the naming of the team with a small plaque showing all 22 players, coach and trainer.


2001 – 2010 SUANFC Team of the Decade
James Edwards , Simon Nash, Chris Clarebrough
HB: Ashley Peck, Joe Biskup, Joel Carr
C: Liam Granger, Frank Punch, David Pattison
HF: Michael Healy, Jeremy Dwyer, James Terry
FF: Alex Lee, Andrew Browne, Mark Egan
Foll: Mark Stockdale, Michael Higgins, Ben Mankarious
Int: Matthew Wakelin, Brydon Coles, Alex Morison, Luke Higgins
Coach: Mark Drinkwater
Trainer: Harvey Gordon