U19 Div 1

2022 Cec and Bunty Awards ball

The Club’s first in-person awards night as a merged club with both women’s and men’s teams was a fantastic success. Players and supporters came together at Doltone House to celebrate the first uninterrupted Sydney AFL season since 2019, marking some great wins and honouring the contributions of club legends.

Players’ on-field contributions were recognised, with each team awarding their Best and Fairest. Across all ages, and divisions, the awardees demonstrated the Club’s commitment to excellence at every level. Maryanne Harley and Jack Dimery were awarded the Best and Fairest for the Women’s and Men’s Premier Division team, respectively, showcasing the very best of the  Club’s ability to develop and support players of the highest level.

The Club also recognised the contribution of members off-field, who give up their time to do the work it takes to keep the Club running, from umpiring, to running the canteen. Richard Hawtin took home the Cec and Bunty Club Person of the Year award. Hawtin’s contribution to the club since he joined nearly a decade ago has been legendary, and 2022 was no different as he routinely showed up on a Saturday to umpire games back to back. 

Life memberships were also awarded to the members whose lasting contributions have earned them the title of club legend. Sophie Clarke, Sam Power, and Andrew Holmes – who have 37 years at the club between the three of them – were all given the honour.

The array of awards – for efforts both on and off the field – showcased the best of a club built on quality football and an even better culture. The mood across all teams was pride for the season that had come, and optimism for the year ahead.

A full list of the awards across all teams is below:

Womens Div 4

  • BnF: Bonita Hammond-Brown
  • Runner up: Evangeline Douglas
  • Coaches award: Ali Thompson
  • Most improved: Dominique Louw


  • Players player: Leigh McWhirter
  • Gentleman of the year: George Harder

Mens Div 3 Yellow

  • BnF: Tony Edser
  • Runner up: Matthew Bertoncello
  • Most consistent: Jack Baggott
  • Most consistent: Jack Baggott

Mens Div 2

  • BnF: Peter Schmidt
  • Runner up: Dekka Adams
  • Most improved: Alex Powys
  • Most consistent: Nick Jenneke
  • Coaches award: Oliver Young

Women's reserves

  • BnF: Molly Cocks
  • Runner up: Nicky Fenaughty
  • Most consistent: Brianna Davies
  • Coaches award: Alice O’Toole

Mens Div 1

  • BnF: Fraser Wells
  • Runner up: Sidney White
  • Most consistent: Zac Dennis
  • Coaches award: Rory Potter

U19s Div 2

  • BnF: Rex Farrelly
  • Runner up: Patrick Mulvey
  • Most consistent: Samuel Soper
  • Coaches award: Cormac Mackenzie

U19s Div 1

  • BnF: Caiden Cleary
  • Runner up: Lucas Newman
  • Most improved: Joseph Shawcross
  • Most consistent: Dominique Goddard
  • Coaches award: Anton Demark

Mens Reserves

  • BnF: Matt Powys
  • Runner up: Riley Howe
  • Players player: David Johnson
  • Most consistent: Dean Costello
  • Coaches award: Massimo Kirk

Womens Prems

  • BnF: Maryanne Harley
  • Runner up: Saskia Johnson
  • Players player: Maryanne Harley
  • Most improved: Emma Gelsomino
  • Coaches award: Erin Doyle

Mens Prems

  • BnF: Jack Dimery
  • Runner up: Peter Spurling
  • Coaches award: Nathan Tang & Tom Van Dongen
  • Most consistent: Sam Gilfedder
  • Players player: Jack Dimery

Club on-field awards

  • Most consistent: Matt Powys
  • Most improved: Montague Velthuis
  • Best first year player: Molly cocks & Tessa Berger
  • Best player in finals: Caiden Cleary
  • Womens rising star: Saskia Johnson
  • Mens rising star: Oscar Davis

Club off-field awards

  • Scholar of the year: Dominique Goddard
  • Outstanding contributions: Mark Stratford, Michelle Hauschild, Scott Morgan & James Mason
  • Blue & Gold award: Justin Hazelton
  • Club person of the year: Richard Hawtin

Life membership

  • Sam Power
  • Sophie Clarke
  • Andrew Holmes