U19 Div 1

Ryan Hebron Wins 2018 Timothy Driscoll Medal

Young defender Ryan Hebron has been awarded Sydney University’s highest playing honour, taking home the 2018 Driscoll Medal last night.

Hebron, who featured in every one of The Students 19 games this season, finished first in the Club’s First Grade B&F voting, ahead of ruckman Sam Tagliabue (2nd) and forward Jake Derickx (3rd).

This caps off a remarkable year for Hebron, which included his second NEAFL Team of the Year nomination and an invite to the AFL Draft Combine which took place this week in Melbourne.

In other categories, captain Tim Barton was awarded the NEAFL Players’ Player, while Darcy Baron-Hay took home the Clinton Cole Scholar of the Year award following an outstanding academic performance over his last two semesters.

Jake Bartholomaues won two awards including the newly named Chas Wilkinson Medal (Rising Star Award) for his breakout season, along with the Club’s NEAFL Development Award.

First year squad member Sam Barkley was awarded the 2018 Coaches Award after cementing his spot down back for The Students this year.

The Club also recognised its Colts program for an outstanding season, in which the Club fielded its second U/19 side for the first time. Up and comer Wes Greenaway took out the McLennan Medal for First Grade Colts B&F, while captain of the Colts Second Grade side, Gabe Beech-Jones was awarded the Club’s Will Macbeth Young Clubperson of the Year Trophy, for his outstanding efforts within the Colts program this season.

Our attention now turns to next Friday’s Cec & Bunty Awards Night where the Club celebrates its six AFL Sydney sides and their efforts in 2018.

A list of last night’s award winners can be seen below.


2018 Timothy Driscoll Medalist – Ryan Hebron

2018 SUANFC NEAFL Runners Up B&F – Sam Tagliabue

2018 SUANFC NEAFL Third B&F – Jake Derickx

2018 Clinton Cole Scholar of the Year – Darcy Baron-Hay

2018 SUANFC Chas Wilkinson Rising Star Award – Jake Bartholomaues

2018 SUANFC NEAFL Coaches Award – Sam Barkley

2018 SUANFC NEAFL Players’ Player – Tim Barton

2018 SUANFC NEAFL Development Award – Jake Bartholomaeus

2018 SUANFC Outstanding Contribution – Nick Foster

2018 SUANFC Will Macbeth Young Clubman of the Year – Gab Beech-Jones

2018 SUANFC Jason McLennan Medallist – Wes Greenaway

2018 SUANFC Colts Div 1 Runners Up B&F – Moustafa Sattout

2018 SUANFC Colts Div 1 Coaches Award – Andreas Apostolou

2018 SUANFC Colts Div 1 Best New Player – Matt Dyster

2018 SUANFC Colts Div 2 Best & Fairest – Rory Bresnahan

2018 SUANFC Colts Div 2 Runners Up B&F – Archie McKay

2018 SUANFC Colts Div 2 Coaches Award – Alex Bulley

2018 SUANFC Colts Div 2 Most Consistent Award – Gab Beech-Jones

2018 SUANFC Colts Permit Player of the Year – Riley Holmes

2018 SUANFC Colts Leading Goalkicker – Luke Gallen





Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *