U19 Div 1

SUANFC Announces 2022 Club Captains

At the 2022 Season Launch, held on Saturday 26th March, team captains for the 2022 season were announced including our two new Club Captains: Maryanne Harley and Spencer Krochmal. 

SUANFC Senior Captains for 2022; Spencer Krochmal and Maryanne Harley with Growthbuilt CEO & Director, Colin Rahim

SUANFC hosted it annual Season Launch over the weekend at our major sponsors venue, the Nags Head Hotel. The event provided an opportunity for all members and supporters of the club to come together and celebrate the much-anticipated year ahead. On the night, team captains for the 2022 season were announced including our two new Club Captains: Maryanne “Mac” Harley and Spencer “Shrimp” Krochmal.

Maryanne joined SUANFC in 2018 after moving to Sydney from Melbourne. At first, SUANFC provided a great opportunity to meet people and make new friends in the city. When reflecting on her past five years, Maryanne said the people at the club are her favourite thing about it. Coming from a varied sporting background that included gymnastics, Maryanne promises a Sam Kerr-style backflip is on the cards if she scores a goal this year. Since 2018, she has become a regular figure in the women’s senior side as a tough inside midfielder who was the winner of the sides 2020 Best and Fairest award. When asked about the year ahead Maryanne said:

“Great vibes in the Women’s Program! After two interrupted seasons, everyone is raring to go.

All players have really embraced opportunities to learn from our new Head Coach, Dyso, and it’s been great to see our hard work come to life in recent practice matches.

Hopefully it’ll be an enjoyable and successful season for all SUANFC teams… Bring on 11 flags!”


Spencer first played for SUANFC in 2015 within the NEAFL program, before officially joining the club in 2016. He came into the NEAFL program as a lanky centre half back, before getting his big break at the back end of 2016 when he was thrust into playing as an undersized ruck/ 4th mid, earning himself SUANFC’s NEAFL Rising Star Award for 2016. He first started playing AFL, however, as early as 3 years old when he would attend his older brother, Monty’s, Auskick games.  

Reflecting on his time at the club Spencer said he was proud of the players, volunteers and supporters that create such a strong sense of community. Spencer is known amongst his team mates as someone who loves to have a joke and get a laugh at training, but when it matters during a big game he will always step up- and this certainly comes through in the awards and accolades Spencer has earnt himself over the years. In 2019, Spencer was names SUANFC Finals Player of the Year, as well as being named in the AFL Sydney team of the year. In 2020, after having already played played in three Grand Finals in the three previous years, he was an integral member of the Premiership Winning Men’s Premier Division Team- helping to break a 28 year drought for the club!

“It’s been a good pre-season, there has been a great commitment from all players. We are looking strong and ready for the year ahead and we are confident that we have a great chance to win another senior premiership for the club”

The season kicks off this Friday with our Men’s Premier Division team taking on UNSW-ES under lights at Henson Park, 7:10pm!! You can also catch all the action from this Fridays game on Kayo!

Our 2022 SUANFC Team Captains:

Men’s Premier Division:

Captain: Spencer Krochmal

Leadership Group: Monty Krochmal, Jack Dimery, Matt Vicic, Austin Lucy, Sam Gilfedder, Nick Foster

Men’s Premier Division Reserves:

Captain: Kyle Underwood

Vice- Captain: William Stratford

Vice-Captain: Matt Powys

Women’s Premier Division:

Captain: Maryanne Harley

Women’s Division One:

Captain: Kate Warnock

Women’s Division Four:

Captain: Evie Douglas

Women’s Leadership Group: Bec Mitchell, Chelsea Owensby, Emma Gelsomino, Georgia Davis, Nat Waterson, Rayanne Kenny, Sophie Clarke, Steph Gillon, Zoe Downing

Men’s Division One:

Captain: James Mason

Vice-Captain: Peyton Caffey

Men’s Division Two:

Captain: Jack Gardiner

Vice-Captain: Riley Dorn

Vice-Captain: Nicholas Jenneke

Men’s Division Three

Captain: Jack Bagott

Captain: Bray Saint-Barry

Vice-captain: Matt Bertoncello

Under 19s:

Captain: Leo Hawkins

Captain: Zak Martin

Leadership Group: Nic Malakellis, Joe Dyster, Reuben Sachs