U19 Div 1

2019 Driscoll Medal Preview

This Friday evening will see Sydney University’s NEAFL best & fairest player named, with the annual awarding of the Driscoll Medal.
Named in honour of former First Grade premiership captain Timothy Driscoll, this year’s award sees several Students capable of winning the prestigious award.

After being named the 2019 NEAFL MVP, Jake Bartholomaeus will be the favourite to win the coveted award following a standout season. Averaging 28 disposals per game in 2019, Bartholomaeus was also a presence around stoppages, averaging over 6 tackles per contest this season.

Despite Bartholomaeus’ standout season, veteran defender Adam Gulden showed why he should be considered within the competition’s elite, earning NEAFL Team of the Year honours for the second year running. The rebounding defender averaged 22 disposals this season, the most of any Students’ defender. On average, 17 of those 22 disposals were kicks.

Former captain Lewis Stevenson aged well in his fifth season with SUANFC, leading the side’s young midfield brigade, while also exhibiting his own skills that have seen him dominate the NEAFL competition in the past half-decade. Averaging 25 disposals, and 4 marks, Stevenson was a standout for the Students’ in the back half of 2019 and will be in the hunt come Friday night.

In his first season on campus, Bailey Stewart was also a consistent performer across the season, playing in every Student’s game in 2019. The young midfielder made himself at home in stoppages, averaging 23 disposals and 7 tackles per game.

Finally, a dark horse for Friday night’s event will be swing-man Ned Reinhard. Moving down back at the start of this season, Reinhard was unstoppable in the air, averaging 7 marks per game, while also winning several post-match awards this season, voted by his teammates. Reinhard was named in the best for SUANFC nine times.

Several other awards will be presented on Friday evening, including the Clinton Cole Scholar of the Year, Coaches Award, Student of the Year and Development Player of the Year.

A rundown of results and winners will be available to read on the Club website following Friday night’s proceedings.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *